Metalogue: Gradient Descent

Metalogue: Gradient Descent
Gradient Descent” is the fourth Metalogue EP. Exploring variations on a single melodic theme, the record travels from dark cavernous ambience to precise digital structures, crossing through sweeping synthetic textures and industrial claustrophobia along the way.

Gradient Descent was written and performed for a Chaos Theory event headlined by Jarboe and Farther Murphy, at St Pancras Old Church, London on 23rd October 2017. The piece features custom made electro-acoustic instruments, field recordings and live electronics. The release on Abstrakt Reflections is a studio arrangement of the original material, integrating additional sound design and layers of live sound from the church performance.

  • 01. Sylvan Fringe
  • 02. Gradient Descent
  • 03. Suspension
  • 04. Endpoint
Listen Online

Release Information
  • CATALOG: AR_077
  • RELEASE_DATE: March 27, 2018
  • TYPE: EP
  • LENGTH: 25:20
  • Mastering by Angelos Liaros
  • Artwork by Bonnie Baker


Abstrakt Reflections is a platform & netlabel focused on the types we love.

We watch for things more left-field, a creative space for abstract rhythms, otherworldly soundscapes and especially invention in electronic music today.

We are open to anything else anyhow, devoted to high quality electronic music with a distinctive sound. Being creative and doing everything with heart is what we stand for.


Sign up now and receive the latest news about the label right in your mail!
We'll be mainly sending you important info, like when a new release is out.