Michael Valentine West:

Discrete Objects

Michael Valentine West - Discrete Objects<
The album “Discrete Objects” was conceived whilst observing geometry in nature and trying to make a connection between it, neuroscience and abstract physics theories. This led to the question; could using a series of ‘discrete objects’ intentionally cause a cognitive change in the listener?

To test this idea, a number of processes (discrete objects) were used to enhance the recordings. This envolved the subtle usage of neural oscillators (alpha, beta, delta, gamma and theta waves), isochronic tones, binaural beats, harmonic counterpoint and stereo placement.

The result was a slowly evolving musical body of work in which the listener is gradually coaxed into an altered state, vaguely equivalent to ‘tripping’.

In order to fully take advantage of this album, playback on decent stereo speakers that are optimally placed, or good headphones are recommended. However, Discrete Objects can still be enjoyed from a purely musical aspect without these recommendations.

  • 01. Flutter
  • 02. Beta Wave
  • 03. Impossible Sphere
Listen Online

Release Information
  • CATALOG: AR_093
  • RELEASE_DATE: August 13, 2019
  • TYPE: Album
  • LENGTH: 46:00
  • Produced, mixed & mastered by Michael Valentine West
  • Artwork by Daniel Glaser


Abstrakt Reflections is a platform & netlabel focused on the types we love.

We watch for things more left-field, a creative space for abstract rhythms, otherworldly soundscapes and especially invention in electronic music today.

We are open to anything else anyhow, devoted to high quality electronic music with a distinctive sound. Being creative and doing everything with heart is what we stand for.


Sign up now and receive the latest news about the label right in your mail!
We'll be mainly sending you important info, like when a new release is out.